Poetry smoetry

tumblr_lwcuzdBqYo1qz4d4bo1_500_large

As it is currently Poetry Month, I have decided to try my hand at writing verse. This will probably not be the last poem I write, so please feel free to comment and critique. Also, I’m not claiming that this is any good at all, I just like the medium of verse and want to encourage others to give it a go too! Thanks for reading 🙂

That girl

To call me a loner is to be misinformed

You, in your ignorance, have jumped the gun

Like all the others

You have seen this girl and thought

That she prefers it this way

Chooses to be on her own

You, in your ignorance, are so wrong.

This girl is not a loner

She is alone

Not by choice, but by circumstance

She wishes it were not the case

She longs for time spent

With other people

Longs for company, for talk

For someone to ask- how are you?

And actually wait to hear her response

Actually, I’m not so good

This girl goes to and fro

Alone

Eats, alone

Sleeps, alone

Lives, alone

Sometimes it feels as though

She hasn’t opened her mouth

To say a word for weeks

She forgets what her own voice sounds like

She hears others, passing by

Everything is blurry though

She hears the words, but does not stop to listen to them

What is the point? They will not talk to her here

Her feet keep moving beneath her

Bring her where she needs to go and back

The time taunts her

She counts the seconds, every one of them

Knowing it will be a long time, still

Before she is back home again.

You may call me loner

But I, I call myself brave.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. northernmalewhite
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 14:51:17

    read as many books as possible
    and drink
    some
    beer

    thanks

    Reply

  2. writingsofamrs
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 14:59:09

    How are you? 🙂
    I really enjoyed this.
    Thanks fir sharing.
    I have caught the poetry bug lately myself.
    Continued success.
    Jennifer

    Reply

  3. writingsofamrs
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 14:59:36

    ** for sharing, not fir..lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

