Good enough to eat!

tumblr_lqnqsatyFV1qm6h14o1_500_large

Ok, so it’s ca. lunchtime now and I’m a bit peckish (I’m being polite; I’m actually rather hungry… as in “the little apple on the back of my iPhone is starting to look good” hungry!). So my quandary is this: what to eat?

I could be a healthy eater and bring a lunch from home, but that is no good to me because:

A.)   I’m already at work and I see no pre-packed lunch in sight (well, not unless I eat my coworker’s lunch, but I doubt she’d appreciate that!)                                -and-

B.)    I tend to try and get a dinner at lunch time because my cooking facilities at “home”/room are fairly meager, and the thought of trying to cook something in the evenings is rather daunting

So… options in the proximity are limited, as where I work is just out of the city centre, i.e. all the restaurants/cafés/etc are juuussst outta reach. However, I have stumbled across a few gems:

1-      The bar around the corner: I know what you’re thinking- a bar? At 1pm? Seriously?! But I don’t go there for their drinks (unless I’m having a really rough day!); rather I go there for their tasty lunch menu. Although there’s not a vast choice of options, they have weekly specials, which I think is a great idea, as it keeps things fresh. Plus, the food there is really nice, so you don’t really mind!

2-      Then there’s the pizzeria across the road: again, another small joint with “the regulars” (me and a few old Italian men), but there’s such a nice feeling when you walk in there and are greeted by ‘ciaos’ and those ever-practical plastic table-coverings. The owner used to always give me my Coke on the house, and this could be why I feel in part responsible for them going out of business. Yes, much to my horror, last Friday I saw the awful sign in their window; “Zur Vermietung” (For Rent, for all the non-Germans out there). I really liked that place, as the chef (Little Old Italian Man #1) made the nicest pepperoni pizza in the world! (and his lasagna wasn’t bad either). So I guess I won’t be frequenting there anymore… Arrivederci Pizzeria!

3-      The Thai restaurant down the street: good food, good value. What can I say; I’m a sucker for a soy-covered bargain!

4-      The bagel place further down the street: only just discovered this place last week, but I’m so glad I did! I haven’t found that many (if any) places that sell bagels here and this made me sad, as my mum used to make really delicious bagels at home. But this little spot offers bagels, fruit salads, salads that don’t have fruits in them, coffee, tea (the German kind, unfortunately, but still!), cookies, doughnuts and brownies- what more could you want? (apart from regular Irish tea, naturally!)

And I think that’s it really… there was this other place that I tried once, and I regret going there no end! I got soup, or something claiming to be soup, with purple bits in it and it tasted like crap and then I was charged a tenner for it. For “soup”?! Crazy talk! Needless to say, they didn’t get a tip from me! (Tip: learn how to make proper soup… And then charge accordingly!)

Anyway, now I’m definitely hungry after all that talk of food! I still don’t know where I’m going to go for lunch/dinner, but I figure once I get outside into the open air, my bloodhound-like nose will guide me in the right direction!

Bon appétit!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zyriacus
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 15:08:03

    Sorry, dear “zur Vermietung” is “for rent” – “for sale” would be “zu verkaufen”.
    Anyway, too bad the joint got out of comission. Maybe you meet some of the friendly guests and ask them for an alternative.

    Reply

    • clairebear2013
      Mar 25, 2013 @ 15:11:05

      Darn, I knew that and all! 😛 Anyway, updated now! Yeah, I was kind of bummed out that they just closed overnight, but I wish them all the best in the future 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

