A word a day keeps nonsense at bay

An example of mondegreen

An example of mondegreen

After a fellow blogger told me about A.Word.A.Day and their free daily newsletter, I signed up. In return for my meager email address, I was provided with a “word of the day”, its pronunciation, meaning, etymology and usage. It’s actually a really interesting way to learn a word a day. Obviously some of the words I would have known previously, but it’s still cool to learn where the word originated from. In some cases, you even find out that the definition you thought you knew for a particular word actually differs from what that word really means. Basically, I’m a bit of a nerd and I think it’s kind of fun to learn some new lingo!

So here’s one of the new words that I learned recently: mondegreen.

Turns out that I knew what mondegreen was before I learned that there was a term for it! So here’s the low-down on mondegreen:

Meaning noun: A word or phrase resulting from mishearing a word or phrase, especially in song lyrics. For example: “The girl with colitis goes by” for “The girl with kaleidoscope eyes” in the Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds”.

I’m not going to go into etymology and usage and all that jazz now, you can check it out here if you’re really interested.

The reason I’m harping on about mondegreen is because there have been countless occasions in my life where I have been listening to a song, misheard the lyrics, and sung instead what I thought I heard, but inherently I was just making up my own lyrics! Some examples follow:

Elvis Presley’s “Hound Dog” – I would sing “You ain’t nothin’ but a hound dog, crying Shirley Lime”, instead of “crying all the time” (apparently I thought Shirley Lime was a person Elvis was calling!)
Rihanna’s “Unfaithful ” – I would sing “I don’t wanna be your mother”, instead of “a murderer” (Wow RiRi, low blow!)
The Jackson 5’s “Blame it on the Boogie” – I would sing “Blame a lemon boogie”, instead of “Blame it on the boogie” (I don’t even know where that one came from!!)

So if there’s anyone out there with a mondegreen of their own that they’d like to share with the group, then by all means- share away! I’d love to hear ‘em, probably in the hope that they’d make mine seem less stupid! So thanks in advance you guys!

As always, love xx

Leave a Reply

