Language Lover / Sprachliebhaberin

tumblr_mhr4rdF9EO1rk378po1_250_large
English:
So I just wanted to pose a question to those out there reading this: Am I the only person who wants to learn all the languages?
Yes, you heard me right- I kind of wish I knew all the languages, so I could talk to anyone in the world, or eavesdrop on anyone’s conversation and know what they were saying!
I’m just trying to figure out if I’m some sort of new xenophile, or if other people out there are as interested as I am in all things language-y!
I’m passionate about English (my first language) and I’m currently studying German and Spanish. I also speak Irish (we learn it in schools at home, even though no one uses it… it’s actually a beautiful language though!) and have acquired a few phrases in several other European languages over the years.
I seem drawn to all things foreign. For example, I went out with a Polish lad and I have numerous foreign friends (German, Spanish, Belarusian, Swedish, and Austrian). I love travelling and learning about different cultures. But I seriously have a thing for languages!
Sadly I do not have the time (or the brain capacity) to learn all the languages of the world, however I just wanted to see if there were others out there who felt the same as I do, and view languages as their raison d’être!
* * * * *
Deutsch:
Also mochte ich einfach eine Frage stellen, für die Leute da draußen die diesen Beitrag lesen: bin ich der einzige Mensch, der alle Sprachen zu erlernen möchte?
Ja, du hast mich recht gehört- ich wünsche irgendwie, dass ich alle Sprachen beherrschen könnte, deshalb konnte ich mit jemanden in der Welt sprechen oder die Gespräche anderer Menschen belauschen und würde verstehen, was sie sagten!
Ich rätsle an ob ich eine neue Art von Xenophil bin herum, oder ob es andere Leute da draußen gibt, die sich für Sprachen so viel wie ich interessieren!
Ich habe eine Leidenschaft für Englisch (meine Muttersprache) und im Moment studiere ich Deutsch und Spanisch. Ich spreche auch Irisch (in Irland lernen wir es in Schulen, obwohl niemand es verwendet… obgleich wirklich es eine schöne Sprache ist!) und habe einige Phrasen in etlichen anderen Sprachen im Lauf der Jahre erlernen.
Es scheint als ob ich von allen Fremddingen angezogen bin. Zum Beispiel, ich bin mit einem polnischen Junge ausgegangen und ich habe zahlreiche Freunde, die Ausländer sind (deutsche, spanische, belarussische, schwedische und österreichisch). Ich reise sehr gern und kennen sehr gern verschiedenen Kulturen lerne. Aber ich habe eine Schwäche für Sprachen!
Leider habe ich nicht die Zeit (oder die Hirnleistung) um alle Sprachen der Welt zu lernen, jedoch ich mochte nur zu sehen ob es andere da draußen gab, die fühlen wie ich und Sprachen als ihre raison d’être schauen!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zyriacus
    Feb 27, 2013 @ 16:59:31

    Well, I don’t think a lifetime will be enough to learn ALL languages there are in this world http://www.uni-leipzig.de/~muellerg/su/haspelmath.pdf I’m happy enough to master my native language (German) and to have a solid command of English. Of French, Italian, Spanish, Portugese, Russian I know enough to get myself into trouble, but also to get around. In some more languages I can say at least “hello”, “good bye”, “yes”, “no”, “thank you”, and “please”. I have been a sailor and made it a habit to learn a few words in every country I happened to land. So I fully understand your desire to learn as much languages as possible. But I think it will be more worthwile to limit it to a handful, but these in depth at least to a colloquial level.

    Reply

    • clairebear2013
      Feb 27, 2013 @ 17:13:07

      Perhaps 7000 languages was a little too ambitious alright! I really like how you’ve made the effort to learn phrases in the languages of the countries you have visited. I am also very jealous that you have gotten to travel to so many places. I hope to see more of the world in the coming years. Thanks you so much for your comment 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

